Category: Tips

What Are Cross Country Mountain Bike Race

This Weekened UCI mountain bike world cup started in canada. The competition will be hosted by mont sainte anne trails. Two kinds of race will take place downhill and cross country.

Cross Country

Some of our readers have always asked us what is cross country race. The cross country mountain bike racing was introduced in the late 1996 and soon became famous. The racing became so much popular that it was added in Olympics. Special types of mountain bikes were used in racing specially with shock absorbers so that it can sustain the shock attained due to high altitude jumps.


Terrains of cross country racing can be difficult and at the same time easy specially those in summer olympics racing contains one of toughest terrains to come through. There can be jungles or mountain which often been challenging to even most experience bikers.

Mountain Bikes

Since riders have to ride from the top to bottom so they often have to face upside and sometimes downside terrain so most bikers prefers lightest models. There are many instance when riders doesn’t wear full helmet but i believe they should not take it lightly as its a fact that cross country bikers face more injury then normal road bikers but injuries are common in any sport.

Types of racing

Races are usually of three types i will try to explain each one of them

cross country marathon (XCM)

As in running marathon race are high endurance race which are common to go upto 100km. Some people doen’t participate to win in this race because completing the race is somewhat an achievement in itself by the way it’s not easy to complete a race which is 100km long.

Olympic (XCO)

This form of racing has been on Olympics bikers have to complete certain number of laps like in any type of racing and who completes all the laps firstly will be become the winner.


This one i love personally elimination as the name gives you any idea the bikers have to race to finish and those two riders who reaches at the least get eliminated so at the end there only three riders left who are awarded as first, second and the third.